The Eastern philosophy says that we are all energies and so is everything around us. It means that everything is connected and everything affects us.

Our energy body has about 72 000 energy channels, nadis, where the energy flows. Here in the west one talk mainly about eight larger energy points in the body, Chakras, where the energy meets. Chakra is sanskrit and means wheel of energy. 

For us to be in balance it is important that the energy flows free through our chakras. We can get an imbalance or blockage in one chakra from feelings or a difficult event, trauma. 

The body’s chakras have different colors and energy frequencies. The lower are somewhat lower in frequency since they are in contact with the earth and the higher chakras are in contact with the intuitive, spiritual and universe.


Sanskrit Name: Muladhara(root)
Location: Base of Spine
Color: Red

Element: Earth
Purpose: Foundation
Basic rights: To be here and have
Identity: Physical
Orientation: Self-preservation
Mantra: Lam/Lang

Stands for: Courage, stability, security and setting boundaries. Connects us with the earth, our base. If we lose contact with the earth we become like a tree without roots and will have trouble standing up when the storm comes. 

Symptoms of imbalance: Low in energy, insecurity, fear, and depression. A feeling of standing still in the personal life and profession, exhaustion, problems with the genitals. 


Sanskrit Name: Svadhistana
Location: Lower abdomen

Color: Orange
Element: Water
Purpose: Movement and Connection
Basic rights: To feel and feel pleasure
Identity: Emotional
Orientation: Self-Gratification
Mantra: Vam/Vang

Stands for: Passion, creativity, life joy, energy, spontaneity, confidence, sexuality, a balance between masculinity and femininity. Stands for our relations with our feelings and other people. 

Symptoms of imbalance: Not in control over one’s feelings, not satisfied, difficulty to meet friends or partner, confirmation needs, urine, and gynecological problems, sexual problems. 


Sanskrit Name: Manipura 
Location: Solar Plexus
Color: Yellow
Element: Fire
Purpose: Transformation
Basic rights: To act and to be an individual
Identity: Ego Identity
Orientation: Self-definition
Mantra: Ram/Rang

Stands for: Self-esteem, to stand up for who you are, gut feeling, life energy, will and self-discipline, our inner fire. 

Symptoms of imbalance: Tiredness, stomach problems, lack of endurance, problems from passed feelings or when going against your gut feeling. 


Sanskrit Name: Anahata
Location: Chest, Heart
Color: Green
Element: Air
Purposes: love, Balance
Basic rights: To love and be loved
Identity: Social
Orientation: Self-acceptance, Acceptance of others
Mantra: Yam/Yang

Stands for: The true love. A balanced heart chakra gives a feeling of understanding and accepting others, animals and nature for who they are. To give and receive love without fear and calculation. To accept and love yourself. This chakra is seen as a bridge between our lower and higher chakras. 

Symptoms of imbalance: Relationship problems – both letting in and letting go, sad, depression, judging towards others, negative view of the world. Heart and lung disease, asthma, high blood pressure. Give love to receive love, seek confirmation and appreciation from others. 


Sanskrit Name: Vissudha
Location: Throat
Color: Blue
Element: Sound
Purpose: Communication, Creativity
Basic Rights: To speak and to be heard
Identity: Creative
Orientation: Self-expression
Mantra: Ham/Hung ”Hang”

Stands for: Communication, to express and live our truth to ourselves and others. Expressing what you feel and think, No judgment or harsh towards others.

Symptoms of imbalance: Difficulty to communicate and say what you feel and want to say, sore throat, neck problems, insomnia, thyroid problems.  


Sanskrit Name: Ajna
Location: Forehead, third eye, brow
Color: Indigo/white
Element: Light
Purpose: Pattern recognition
Basic rights: To see
Identity: Archetypal 
Orientation: Self-reflection
Mantra: Sham/Aum

Stands for: Intuition, dreams, our memory, our higher self, visualizations, the divine within us. 

Symptoms of imbalance: Headaches, nightmares, concentration difficulties, sight problems, difficulty to remember, difficult to understand the spiritual world.


Sanskrit Name: Sahasrara
Location: Cerebral cortex
Color: Violet/white
Element: Thought
Purpose: Understanding
Basic rights: To know and to learn
Identity: Universal
Orientation: Self-knowledge
Mantra: Om/Moola Mantra/ Ogum Satyam OM

Stands for: connects us with higher energies, our destiny, the universe. Insight, peace. 

Symptoms of imbalance: Fear of death, insecurity, lack of will to evolve spiritually, low self-esteem, feeling of being lost, difficult to have one’s feet on the ground. 


Location: Around the physical body. 
Stands for: Your aura and protection around the body.
Color: Gold
Element: Soul
Symptoms of imbalance: Difficulty to stand against outer negativity and illness.